US Coast Guard Auxiliary 2020 Boater Safety Class Dates
March 14, April 11, May 9, June 6, July 18, August 22, September 26, October 17
America's Boating Course is an eight-hour course covering the basics of boating and is appropriate for youth as well as the adult boater. Successful completion of this course satisfies the education requirement to operate a boat in ANY STATE and for youth to operate a PWC in both Virginia and North Carolina.
Remember: Virginia now has a law that all boaters in the waters of Virginia will have proof of taking a Boating Course. All Motor Boat Operators operating a vessel with a 10 HP engine or greater, must meet these requirements. All PWC Operators regardless of age must have proof of taking a Boating Course.
North Carolina Law New North Carolina law requires that all PWC and Motor Boat Operators who were born after 1 January 1988 have proof of taking a Boating Course, if they are operating a vessel with a 10 HP engine or greater.
The fee for the course is $30.00, Preregistration is required. Courses are taught at the Longbridge Volunteer Fire Department 1678 Eaton Ferry Road Littleton, NC 27850.
Courses are taught by certified instructors from the USCG Auxiliary Lake Gaston Flotilla 9-3.
Classes are from 8:00am to 5:00pm, with the exam given at the end of class. Please bring your lunch. Free Coffee and muffins available. Bottled water, sodas, chips, snacks can be purchased for $1.00.
For more information on these classes, or to register, please call: Phone 252 535 3335
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 306 Henrico, NC 27842
Free Vessel Safety Check
Flotilla 9-3 will perform a free Vessel Safety Check on your boat at your home. The boat can be in the boatlift or on a trailer. To receive a free safety check, call 252-535-3335. A Vessel Safety Examiner will contact you and set up a day and time convenient for you.